New national office bearers elected at Numsa’s 9th National Congress

New Numsa national office bearers elected at 9th National Congress will hold office until 2016

Election results of NUMSA National Office Bearers as elected at Numsa's 9th National Congress, .

Only one National Office Bearer position was contested at Numsa's 9th National Congress iNkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (ICC), Durban, KwaZulu-Natal province. This occurred because the former 1st Deputy President, Phil Bokaba, indicated that he would not stand again. Andrew Chirwa and Phutase Tseki were nominated for the position. Chirwa received the most votes and therefore was confirmed as the new 1st Deputy President.

The former national treasurer, Philemon Shiburi, also declined to stand however only one person was nominated in his position, Mpumzi Maquongo. He therefore takes up the post of national treasurer. 

The other positions of president, second deputy president, general secretary and deputy general secretary were all unopposed so all former office bearers in these positions were reconfirmed.

President: Cedric Gina

1st Deputy President: Andrew Chirwa

2nd Deputy President: Christine Olivier

National Treasurer: Mphumzi Maqungo

General Secretary: Irvin Jim

Deputy General Secretary: Karl Cloete

These new national office bearers will hold office until the 10th national congress in 2016.

Issued by NUMSA

Enquiries: Castro Ngobese, National Spokesperson -083 627 5197